Further Casting Announced for LEAVE TO REMAIN at Lyric Hammersmith

Casting has been revealed for LEAVE TO REMAIN, a new play with songs premiering at London’s Lyric Hammersmith in January 2019.

Joining the previously announced Tyrone Huntley will be Billy Cullum, Emma Amos, Aretha Ayeh, Rakie Ayola, Sandy Batchelor, Arun Blair-Mangat and Cornell S John. Further casting is still to be announced.

Matt Jones’ new play features music by Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke. The show is directed by Southpaw Dance Company’s Robbie Graham, and features design by Rebecca Brower.

The London-set production follows young gay couple, Obi and Alex. Their lives are jeopardised when Alex’s visa comes into question. Using a blend of music, drama and movement, LEAVE TO REMAIN explores the effect’s of one couple’s marriage, and what happens when it begins to fracture both their families.

It has also been revealed that Kele Okereke’s music for the play, will be preserved on a new 15 track recording. Releasing on 24th January, to coincide with the play’s opening night, the album features performance from Okereke and mixing by Charles Kelly.

LEAVE TO REMAIN runs at the Lyric Hammersmith from 18th January to 16th February.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s